Category: Children

Delve into our Collections and discover your next read with curated lists and suggestions from Hamilton City Libraries staff.

International Tea Day UN Graphic and tea book display

International Tea Day

Wednesday 18 May | Adult Fiction, Adult Non-Fiction, Young Adult, Children

This weekend International Tea Day will be observed all around the world! Each year on 21 May, the long history and deep cultural and economic significance of tea is recognised.

Read more

Zora Me Reading Map

Reading Map: Zora & Me

Friday 8 April | Children

For young readers who enjoyed Zora & Me: The Cursed Ground, we have a selection of other junior books which share similar themes, of racism, coming of age, civil rights, and the…

Read more

LibChoice Outdoor kid guidebook

Librarian's Choice: Hamilton & Waikato: The ultimate family guidebook

Wednesday 9 March | Adult Non-Fiction, Children

Title: Hamilton & Waikato: The ultimate family guidebook Author: Ceana Priest This book is a valuable resource for families looking for local outdoor activities to take their whole family on.

Read more

Top Library Apps

Best Library Apps for your New Device

Tuesday 11 January | Children, Young Adult, Adult Fiction, Adult Non-Fiction

Did you get a new device for Christmas or in the holiday sales? Make the most of it - and your library membership - with these library apps! If your new…

Read more

Heritage Lit Awards

NZSA New Zealand Heritage Literary Awards 2021

Monday 1 November | NZ Books, Adult Non-Fiction, Adult Fiction, Children

The New Zealand Society of Authors announced the winners and runners-up of this year's New Zealand Heritage Literary Awards at the Christchurch Heritage Festival on 22 October.

Read more

WSW poster cropped

World Space Week

Wednesday 6 October | Children

It’s World Space Week! The theme for this year’s event is Women in Space, celebrating accomplishments and contributions of women to the space sector and sciences.

Read more

Barking Good Reads

Lockdown: Barking Good Reads

Friday 20 August | Children

Ahead of International Dog Day on 26 August, we've found the best books about our furry friends - and they're all available in eBook format, so you can borrow and…

Read more

Matariki

Matariki Resources

Wednesday 9 June | Adult Non-Fiction, Children, NZ Books

A selection of books, multimedia, and weblinks to help you discover more about the history of Matariki and how it is celebrated.

Read more

Autism Awareness

Autism Awareness Month

Friday 7 May | Adult Fiction, Adult Non-Fiction, Young Adult, Children

April was Autism Awareness Month, so Hillcrest Library was celebrating books about and by people on the autism spectrum.

Read more

Octopus

Reach for a Book!

Tuesday 27 October | Children

A new friend has joined the junior area at Central Library, reaching for books with eight arms! Have a look at the "octo-picks" below.

Read more

kia kaha te reo maaori

Te Wiki o Te Reo Maaori 2020

Monday 14 September | Children, NZ Books, Adult Non-Fiction

This week is Te Wiki o Te Reo Maaori - Maaori Language Week! We celebrated by putting up some displays of books in and about reo Maaori for children and…

Read more

LibChoice the hobbit

Librarian's Choice: The Hobbit

Monday 7 September | Librarians Choice, Children

Tolkien’s well-known fiction story is often assumed to be metaphorical in many areas and aspects, however the fantasy tale of Hobbits, rings of power and quests determining the fate of Middle Earth leads the reader into one of the most fascinating adventures told in the last century.

Read more

1 2